Dexter Volunteer Fire Department, Inc. formerly known as the Dexter Fire Department an entity of the Village of Dexter organized on the 19th day of November 1886 and declared a village fire department by the village trustees on the 21st day of May 1889 has now become companies of the Town of Brownville Joint Fire District beginning at midnight on the 1st of January 2012. Even though you don't hear Dexter Fire across the scanners anymore we are still here just being called a different name. Below is some history we would like to share with you and towards the bottom you can see who is our officers of the incorparation.

The Last Apparatus of the Dexter Volunteer Fire Department Inc.

1865 Rumsey Hand Pumper

The Rumsey hand pumper, built in Seneca Falls, NY was purchased by the fire department in 2875.

Please use the link provided for the full History on the Rumsey Hand Pumper. (Link)

1929 Brockway Pumper

The Brockway Pumper was bought new by the fire department in 1930. This was Dexter's fire motorized vehicle.

DFD STation 1

Located at 100 Locke St. The DFD Station 1 is now the Town of Brownville Joint FIre District Station 1

DFD STation 2

Located at 11430 Middle Road. The DFD Station 1 is now the Town of Brownville Joint Fire District Station 2

Retired Fire Apparatus

Silsby Steamer

The Silsby Steamer pumping from the canal downtown.

1933 Packard Squad

Unsure who is in the image.

1951 Dodge

The 1951 Dodge (Engine 31) when it was new. Manufactured by FAE in Clayton, chassis was purchased from Eveleigh Motors in Dexter.

1957 Plymouth

The First Ambulance 1957 Plymouth

1974 Chevy

First Mini 1974 Chevy, built by Reinhart Brothers.

Historic Fires In Dexter

Here are some historic fires around the Dexter area.

The Ramblers Firematics Racing Team & Photos

Who we are

The Officers of the Dexter Volunteer Fire Department Inc are listed below.

Willis (Kook) McIntosh


Gerald Kostyk


Keith LaMarche


Drew Heise


Wayne Livingston

VIce President Station 1

Wendy MacMillan

Secretary Station 1

Cheri LaMarche

Treasure Station 1

Nathan Gilchrist

Vice President Station 2

Nathan Peters

Secretary Station 2

Robert (Bob) LaSage

Treasure Station 2

Liz Kellar

Vice President Ladies Auxiliary

Jean LaSage

Secretary Ladies Auxiliary

Brenda Gilchrist

Treasure Ladies Auxiliary

The Constitution and By-Laws of the Dexter Volunteer Fire Department Inc.

By-Laws and Policies Completed.pdf